Camp NaNo Excerpt: Fall of Baris

Chaos. That’s my life until the first of August. I’ve a mountain of work needing done and so when I committed to drafting yet another novel this month I vowed I’d finish it by the 31st. Silly me. It’s running longer than expected, the problem one I’ve already identified and that’s a relatively easy fix in the editing stage.

A NaNo "place holder" cover. Cover: CA Hawthorne

A NaNo “place holder” cover.
Cover: CA Hawthorne

Yeah, and I still haven’t finished editing Bk1. This, in case you don’t know, is Bk4. Another vow: no more drafting novels until revisions are done on two or three novels. If I get the drafting bug I’ll write a short story.

All of which leads to my blog post this week which is, yet again, an excerpt from the book I’m currently working on, Traversing the Astral Plane. I feel like I’m living on it lately. I’m at 116K, eating meals at my desk, and squeezing every available minute to make 5-6K/day so I can finish. I have a daily plan and so far I’m keeping up with it.

Anyway, this is from early in the first draft and is a pivotal moment in the story when Nate and Amatha meet for the first time (there’s been a long distance, across the Astral Plane connection, but that’s a long explanation—and the book). The city of Baris is under attack. To save a little girl who’s fallen out of a wagon, Amatha leaves her horse, Tempest, with her friend Prayleen to scoop up the child and return her. For clarity, Bandy is a gargoyle…

To read the full excerpt from the novel please join me on the website HERE.

SaveSave

About Ontyre Passages

Alive and well in the Rocky Mountains. I'm a fantasy writer who also dabbles in poetry, short stories, and map making. My Ontyre tales are an alternative fantasy experience, the stories rich in mystery, adventure, and romance. Alternative fantasy? Not quite steampunk. Not quite gothic. In truth, the real magic is in those who discover what's within.
This entry was posted in Main Blog, Ontyre and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

