Another Camp NaNoWriMo Excerpt

I’m a poor (at best) swimmer and this month I’m swimming upstream during Camp NaNoWriMo trying to complete an entire draft in thirty-one days. That’s right, I’m not talking about the November NaNo goal of 50k (passed that yesterday), but an entire draft.

A NaNo "place holder" cover. Cover: CA Hawthorne

A NaNo “place holder” cover.
Cover: CA Hawthorne

So far I’m on pace to make it. Really though, it isn’t so much about the time challenge, but about imposed constraints. I do better when I’m forced to move as fast as possible through my discovery draft. Thus, for a change and to make life easier, my blog post each Thursday this month is about sharing excerpts. Of course, if they survive they’ll look much different later.

Today I’ll share a short, first-draft, Amatha POV excerpt from Traversing the Astral Plane that takes place not long after the protagonist, Amatha, meets Prayleen. Prayleen, while petite and be-speckled, is also the streetwise half of the pair. Amatha, on the other hand, spent the first 18 years of her life in an Astral Stasis…

To read the remainder of this post please join me on the website HERE.

SaveSave

About Ontyre Passages

Alive and well in the Rocky Mountains. I'm a fantasy writer who also dabbles in poetry, short stories, and map making. My Ontyre tales are an alternative fantasy experience, the stories rich in mystery, adventure, and romance. Alternative fantasy? Not quite steampunk. Not quite gothic. In truth, the real magic is in those who discover what's within.
This entry was posted in Main Blog, Ontyre and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

