My Early Revision Levels

Last week I talked about my reluctance to set aside a draft until I was comfortable with its overall consistency and quality. This week I’ll share the process that’s evolved over time. Please note this isn’t a formal method. Until I decided to share it here I’d never written it down. It is proof, though, that over time we each find our own way to write a novel.

Photo: CA Hawthorne

Photo: CA Hawthorne

As it stands now my novels go through several early revision stages. Some are uncomplicated, others more complex. Keep in mind none are cast in stone. Here we go…

Discovery Draft
I’ve seen this name used several times, but can’t recall where. I always start with at least preliminary character sketches and a narrative outline. Of course, there’s also all my fantasy world resources, which are considerable. After that I throw my characters together and the fun begins…

 

To read the remainder of this post and view the other levels please join me HERE.

About Ontyre Passages

Alive and well in the Rocky Mountains. I'm a fantasy writer who also dabbles in poetry, short stories, and map making. My Ontyre tales are an alternative fantasy experience, the stories rich in mystery, adventure, and romance. Alternative fantasy? Not quite steampunk. Not quite gothic. In truth, the real magic is in those who discover what's within.
This entry was posted in Main Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

