#NaNoWriMo and The Great Fear

National Novel Writing Month

National Novel Writing Month

Irrational fear doesn’t feel quite so irrational when it’s in your face. To be a writer is to put yourself out there and that’s never more true than when writing fiction. When you create, and you do so honestly, you expose yourself to harsh responses. We all know their faces.

Judgment. Rejection. Incompetence. Failure.

Ouch. Brutal. And they have cousins. It’s a big family. The Fear family.

What Do I Know About Fear?
My desire to write surfaced when I was 15. After minor success in school and encouragement from a teacher I—procrastinated. I toyed with one idea after another and produced—nothing. A preliminary outline or two. A few scattered chapters. In my 30s I returned to school. I was published in the school’s literary magazine, received support from several teachers and then: nothing.

Fortunately, college lit the burners and ideas for a fantasy world and novel heated. A decade later the novel happened, but outside of a few family members no one saw it. Two other novels also happened, but no one saw them, with good reason.

Then, something changed. Maybe it was…

To read the remainder of this post please join me HERE.

About Ontyre Passages

Alive and well in the Rocky Mountains. I'm a fantasy writer who also dabbles in poetry, short stories, and map making. My Ontyre tales are an alternative fantasy experience, the stories rich in mystery, adventure, and romance. Alternative fantasy? Not quite steampunk. Not quite gothic. In truth, the real magic is in those who discover what's within.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #NaNoWriMo and The Great Fear

  1. Deborah Wallace says:

    Thanks Christina. Not doing NaNo but still needed to hear this right now. I won’t be beaten by rejection. I will write.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • You’re more than welcome. I wish you only the best with whatever path your writing journey is taking at the moment. There’s always another step we writers don’t want to face. For me, that’s submitting and publishing. Sounds like you’re further along. Well done!

Leave a Reply

