The Human Element

Home with the kitties after a meeting. Photo: CA Hawthorne

Home with the kitties after a meeting. Photo: CA Hawthorne

Christmas comes early. If you’ve followed my joy concerning my achievements during NaNo last month you may believe I’m revisiting those numbers again. I’m not. This is more profound, at least to me. Yes, NaNo helped make it possible, but the tale stretches back much farther than that.

I’m talking about my writing voice.

I’ve long known fantasy writing was where I belonged and made my official entry into the genre in ’99. Even so, I struggled to capture the human element. I say this with the benefit of hindsight, for at the time I didn’t understand what was wrong. There were moments when it worked, but more often my writing was hollow. It was as if the truth was just beyond the veil, but my fingers couldn’t find the veil to part it.

Time helped inch me in the right direction, but the first major step came in 2011…

To read the remainder of this blog post on my website please join me HERE.

About Ontyre Passages

Alive and well in the Rocky Mountains. I'm a fantasy writer who also dabbles in poetry, short stories, and map making. My Ontyre tales are an alternative fantasy experience, the stories rich in mystery, adventure, and romance. Alternative fantasy? Not quite steampunk. Not quite gothic. In truth, the real magic is in those who discover what's within.
This entry was posted in Main Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

