NaNo May Be Larger Than It Appears

National Novel Writing Month

National Novel Writing Month

It’s hard to believe the writing mania of NaNo has become the past already. Yet, it hasn’t. We’ve all produced words, no matter how many or how few. Too, we’ve learned much about our craft and ourselves. This is my retrospective…

When October rolled around I’d already spent months tossing ideas around in my head, but most important were three significant events that paved the way for a successful November.

The first was overcoming my short story phobia. I’d written one in September, but wondered if it was a fluke until I produced three the next month in the fantasy genre. That would come into play late during NaNo.

The second was producing a backstory, character biographies, and flexible outline. Over time I drifted off the outline, but it’d already done its work. Instead of standing at the starting block pondering, “H’m, what’s my plot, who are my characters?” I instead started at a sprint. Sure, as I went along I made unanticipated changes to my characters and allowed them freedom, but by then I was submerged in the story instead of still dipping a toe.

The third event was unanticipated.

To read the rest of this post please join me on my website HERE.

About Ontyre Passages

Alive and well in the Rocky Mountains. I'm a fantasy writer who also dabbles in poetry, short stories, and map making. My Ontyre tales are an alternative fantasy experience, the stories rich in mystery, adventure, and romance. Alternative fantasy? Not quite steampunk. Not quite gothic. In truth, the real magic is in those who discover what's within.
This entry was posted in Main Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

