Map Reconstruction

Hartise Map. Creator: CA Hawthorne

Hartise Map. Creator: CA Hawthorne

It’s a long time since I’ve talked about maps, a lifelong fascination. My love of maps is a tale I first told on my WordPress site a couple of years ago in my two-part blog post Geography and Maps. I later reproduced Part 1 and Part 2 on my website. Today I’m sharing the initial stages of a new map project brought about because of new technology and issues I’d run into with my old maps. After all, it’s nearly 15 years since my initial world building efforts and it was time to update and change the problems I’d never gotten around to correcting.

Don’t get me wrong…I’m proud of those first maps and will keep them forever.

I’ll begin with the original Ontyre Map that was created in Paint. I went pixel by pixel creating a map I had to keep small or my old PC locked-up. It’s resolution is poor and doesn’t hold up if I want to isolate a portion and use it for other purposes…

To read the remainder of this post and see more maps please join me on my website HERE.

About Ontyre Passages

Alive and well in the Rocky Mountains. I'm a fantasy writer who also dabbles in poetry, short stories, and map making. My Ontyre tales are an alternative fantasy experience, the stories rich in mystery, adventure, and romance. Alternative fantasy? Not quite steampunk. Not quite gothic. In truth, the real magic is in those who discover what's within.
This entry was posted in Main Blog, Ontyre and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

