American Passages

"Declaration independence" by John Trumbull - US Capitol. Licensed under Public Domain via Wikimedia Commons - https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Declaration_independence.jpg#/media/File:Declaration_independence.jpg

“Declaration independence” by John Trumbull – US Capitol. Licensed under Public Domain via Wikimedia Commons – https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Declaration_independence.jpg#/media/File:Declaration_independence.jpg

It’s Independence Day here in the US and in honor of our 239th birthday I’m doing something a little different today. I’ve assembled some of my favorite passages, some of the best examples of writers/speakers talking about freedom and equality. It’s my hope that we keep reaching towards these ideals even when we fail to reach them, and often we have. I read Johnson’s words, for instance, and my heart becomes heavy as I think about how The Great Society was overshadowed by the war that consumed him and a nation. Even so, I remain thankful for much of what he put in place. Let us not forget that freedom means we still have the opportunity to do better in the future. Here’s my short list:

To read the list and some of the inspiring words contained within please visit my website HERE. Happy Independence Day and here’s my hope for equality for everyone, everywhere.

About Ontyre Passages

Alive and well in the Rocky Mountains. I'm a fantasy writer who also dabbles in poetry, short stories, and map making. My Ontyre tales are an alternative fantasy experience, the stories rich in mystery, adventure, and romance. Alternative fantasy? Not quite steampunk. Not quite gothic. In truth, the real magic is in those who discover what's within.
This entry was posted in Main Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

