Counting Scars

Photo: CA Hawthorne

Photo: CA Hawthorne

If I knew how many scars I have
I could tell you how many scars it takes
before you’re unwilling to let someone in,
before you’re unwilling to risk heartache.

The heart, she’s still dwells inside,
for my weaker moments tells me so,
still, the broken pieces no longer bind
and experience urges me to remain alone.

I could reexamine my decisions,
but no amount of “if onlys” make an “us”
when life’s accumulated scars
have burned away the trust.

It took miles traveled to understand:
“alone” and“lonely” hold different meanings,
that happiness resides not in someone else,
but in the person who never leaves me.

©June 2014, Christina Anne Hawthorne

About Ontyre Passages

Alive and well in the Rocky Mountains. I'm a fantasy writer who also dabbles in poetry, short stories, and map making. My Ontyre tales are an alternative fantasy experience, the stories rich in mystery, adventure, and romance. Alternative fantasy? Not quite steampunk. Not quite gothic. In truth, the real magic is in those who discover what's within.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Counting Scars

  1. Christina this is a beautiful poem and I can resonate with it from my younger days of being single. I remember a time when I was happy to be by myself and I told myself that I would rather live with just me then be with the wrong person. To love the self sends a clear message to the world, you are beautiful and worth true love and that is everything.xx Your scars will heal because you love yourself now more than ever. I can see it in your writing.

  2. Letizia says:

    What a beautiful poem, and message.

Leave a Reply

