Rain Spell

Photo: CA Hawthorne

Photo: CA Hawthorne

Hands clapped in the heavens,
a nurturing applause,
rain rhythmic on the leaves, the pavement, the rooftop
…steady beats without pause.

Clouds sink to shrink the sky,
my vista deepens,
nature’s breath upon the land, the trees, my cheek
…a cloak to sink in.

Oh, how I’ve missed the rain,
my senses filled,
the world softening, glistening, instilling lost wonder
…time stands still.

©June 2014, Christina Anne Hawthorne

Photo: CA Hawthorne

Photo: CA Hawthorne

About Ontyre Passages

Alive and well in the Rocky Mountains. I'm a fantasy writer who also dabbles in poetry, short stories, and map making. My Ontyre tales are an alternative fantasy experience, the stories rich in mystery, adventure, and romance. Alternative fantasy? Not quite steampunk. Not quite gothic. In truth, the real magic is in those who discover what's within.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rain Spell

  1. Lovely poem, Christina.

  2. We have just had a week of rain and I adore this poem Christina, there was nothing better than listening the patter on the roof when I was a child all safe and tucked in bed.

    • I know. It’s been so long for me, for whenever it would rain where I was living, which was a rare thing, the wind would howl and the rain would come at you horizontally. If you used an umbrella you instantly became Mary Poppins. But the day these pictures were taken it was beautiful, a light rain falling straight down and all the different survives. It waited 25 years for it and loved every moment.

Leave a Reply

