In Memory

Photo: CA Hawthorne

Photo: CA Hawthorne

In that moment so brief in our lives
my heart thawed because you drew me out.
I wanted to embrace you,
but darkness fell and we passed out of sight…
your last evening,
me escaping the night,
our fleeing the demons following us…
their glee, their twisted delight.
We found new paths in opposing directions
taking us further away from what could have been,
but wasn’t meant to be.
So, now I sit and contemplate my journey alone
knowing your journey has found its end.
The breeze blows in silence,
the leaves move unseen
as I lift my burdens…
a little heavier now for the newfound sorrow in me.

©June 2014, Christina Anne Hawthorne

About Ontyre Passages

Alive and well in the Rocky Mountains. I'm a fantasy writer who also dabbles in poetry, short stories, and map making. My Ontyre tales are an alternative fantasy experience, the stories rich in mystery, adventure, and romance. Alternative fantasy? Not quite steampunk. Not quite gothic. In truth, the real magic is in those who discover what's within.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In Memory

  1. Christine so beautiful and sad at the same time you really have gift.

Leave a Reply

