Once in a Lifetime News

Since my blog last Thursday I’ve thought a lot about my writing. That post was about answering questions relating to my writing process and what makes my stories unique. I did my best to answer the questions, but felt something was missing. Looking back I realize there wasn’t an easy way to add what was, to me, missing.

Well, not without making an already lengthy post even longer.

Addressing that issue was the subject for this week, but then the unexpected happened and I realized that sharing my unexpected news fit right in with my intended topic.photo

How often does that happen?

The third question asked why I wrote and, having just finished talking about the unique fantasy elements in my stories, I was quick to follow that path and talk about how fantasy allows me to unleash my imagination. Fine. All true.

All true from an imagination standpoint.

But there’s more and the “more” moves the discussion from my head to the core of who I am.

The trials in my life instilled a deep, lifelong depression in me, nearly breaking me more than once. Yet, always I clung to hope. In my darkest hour I found someone who helped me. Rather then strive to provide me more hope he taught me to build upon the hope I already possessed. The skills I learned (thankfulness, forgiveness, mindfulness) from him enabled me to cope on my own and pursue happiness.

I don’t write stories about depressed people, but I do write stories about those who struggle against demons internal and external while clinging to hope. Too, people working together, feeding off each other’s strength and ideas, is another theme that’s present in my tales.

So, how does this all tie to my unexpected news?

As many of you know I’ve long worked to assemble a poetry collection for publication, wading through over 450 poems looking for my best work. In the end I narrowed my search to 87 and then loosely divided them into four groups that represented my life’s cycle to this point. After that there was editing, arranging, writing support pieces, and surviving a certain gray cat stepping on the power switch on the strip that served my computer.Selecting fonts.

My life passed before my eyes and went splat! Virtually nothing was lost.

I went to Createspace where there was one mini hurtle after another. This isn’t about criticizing them, it’s about me having to divert from my mission to address ISBNs, EINs, formatting issues, distribution, accounts, design, proofs, and everything else I had to learn. I lived there for more than two weeks, my slow pace partly a learned coping skill for managing anxiety.

And then the tasks required, like a seemingly endless mountainside, ceased and I found myself at the summit. Sure, there was still KDP, but I addressed it in a day since all the hard work was done in Createspace. I went from struggling to a published author before I was fully aware it had happened.

Link to my Amazon Author's Page. The Renaissance Cycle is available as an ebook and paperback.

Link to my Amazon Author’s Page. The Renaissance Cycle is available as an ebook and paperback.

Yes, I’m proud to say that yesterday, May 14th, I became a published author.

The Renaissance Cycle is live on Amazon. The book that started as a favor and became a passion (and taught me to spell renaissance) is now available as an ebook and a paperback. I do hope you’ll all take a look at my author’s page and the book that’s featured there and consider taking the book home with you in one form or another.

As much as the book is about learning and growing, it’s also about creativity. The last, biggest section celebrates humor, love, happiness, and thankfulness.

Thankfulness.

Right now I’m thankful beyond my ability to adequately express it. Yes, I did the work, but there are so many people along the way who’ve made a difference in my life and helped make this possible. Included in that rather large group is all of you. Thank you.

There’s a lesson here, one you’ve probably heard before, but I’ll share it anyway: Don’t ever let someone tell you that you can’t and certainly never believe that yourself.

Christina Anne HawthorneOver 35 years firmly in depressions grip…I should probably be dead. Instead, I’ve just published my first book and the online story will conclude in July. So, those college classes you’ve put off, those paint brushes you’ve ignored, that promotion you wish you had…discover within you what you need to find a way to your happiness.

I wish you all the best.

About Ontyre Passages

Alive and well in the Rocky Mountains. I'm a fantasy writer who also dabbles in poetry, short stories, and map making. My Ontyre tales are an alternative fantasy experience, the stories rich in mystery, adventure, and romance. Alternative fantasy? Not quite steampunk. Not quite gothic. In truth, the real magic is in those who discover what's within.
This entry was posted in Main Blog, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Once in a Lifetime News

  1. Congratulations, Christina! I wish you much success.

  2. MarinaSofia says:

    Well done – what wonderful news! And a certain grey cat seems rather proud of you too…

    • Thank you very much, Marina. I forgive my certain gray cat (Misha) her “freak out” moments, for they’re usually quite entertaining. Too, I’ve relocated the power strip…lol. Besides, there are actually poems in the collection about her and her brother. I could never be angry with my little girl, especially when I’m in bed reading and she cuddles up next to me with her head on my shoulder and purrs.

  3. Jodi says:

    A huge cheer for you, what a huge accomplishment! This calls for celebratory cake.

  4. Good on you girl from strength to strength you will go xx

Leave a Reply

