Map Tour: Northwest Hartise

Map TourTo celebrate my new website I’m taking a map tour and exploring some of the Ontyre maps, beginning with Northwest Hartise. On the website I’ve added a new menu item (beneath Ontyre on the menu) called Ontyre Maps. I hope you’ll visit, examine the map (it’s BIG), take a look around, and maybe start reading the free online story, Last Word Before Dying. To visit simply click HERE and you’re on your way to the first map post.

About Ontyre Passages

Alive and well in the Rocky Mountains. I'm a fantasy writer who also dabbles in poetry, short stories, and map making. My Ontyre tales are an alternative fantasy experience, the stories rich in mystery, adventure, and romance. Alternative fantasy? Not quite steampunk. Not quite gothic. In truth, the real magic is in those who discover what's within.
This entry was posted in Main Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Map Tour: Northwest Hartise

  1. Jodi says:

    One of the things on my to do list for this book is to sit down and finally figure out my map, and seeing your terrific map makes me think perhaps I should do it sooner rather than later! Ah, time, thou art a cruel mistress!

    • I know exactly what you mean about time. Yikes! For me, a map is nearly as important as outlines and character biographies. BUT, this isn’t the original map. The original was sketched upon the back of used paper and took about an hour (I still have it!…you can see it in “Geography and Maps (Part 1),” May 9, 2013). Don’t be afraid to do a “rough draft” map, it’s both helpful and inspirational.

      • Jodi says:

        I have so many random attempts at making a map, and each one is getting closer to the real thing. Once I kick this perfectionism complex I’ll be ready to go. Now for naming the dozens of random locations that I know I’ll need in the long run!

      • Oh yes, perfectionism can play havoc with map making. It turns the process into a never-ending project because there’s always something you can move or change. Naming locations is easiest if you have a history in place, it adds depth/meaning to city and geographical names. I really enjoy the naming. I felt like Captain Cook sailing the Earth oceans.

Leave a Reply

