Dear Beast

Some nights the beast is at my door

Photo: ©2014, Christina Anne Hawthorne

Photo: ©2014, Christina Anne Hawthorne

and there’s a hole in my stomach from whence it escaped.
Some nights the beast is on the street chasing me
and the slightest pause is a monumental mistake.

The beast comes in many forms and wears many faces…

Sometimes it’s the old me trying to revive.
Sometimes it’s my negative self trying to survive.
Sometimes it’s panic where none should be.
But sometimes it’s the inner warrior pushing me.

Dear beast, as horrible and terrible as you are
I’ve learned I can twist you to do my bidding.
Dear beast, I’ve come to appreciate your dreams
even if they wake me at night…no kidding.

©April 2014, Christina Anne Hawthorne

About Ontyre Passages

Alive and well in the Rocky Mountains. I'm a fantasy writer who also dabbles in poetry, short stories, and map making. My Ontyre tales are an alternative fantasy experience, the stories rich in mystery, adventure, and romance. Alternative fantasy? Not quite steampunk. Not quite gothic. In truth, the real magic is in those who discover what's within.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dear Beast

  1. We each have our beasts to bear. Glad yours is under control.

  2. Love this Christina it explains how I feel some days, when my beast escapes.

Leave a Reply

