A Piece of My Dream

Well, I’m at it again…

Yet again I’m assembling the dream that’s so dear to my heart. One of the parts was relocation and I’ve taken a step in that direction.

Actually, a whole lot of steps and that direction is northwest.

I awoke on Monday to make my drive. The wind was blowing, the temperature was -21F with the windchill, and there was ice/snow everywhere.

Okay, I’m crazy…and determined.

I knew driving anywhere would be a challenge so I left at 3:30AM.

Good thing I did.

The first 65 miles were ice with snow blowing across the road. I could barely see. The heater in my little car was struggling with the frigid temperatures so the upper half of my windshield remained ice. Finally, the road improved.

Of course, near Billings, Montana I had a nosebleed while wearing my new coat. So, there I was trying to stop the flow, working frantically to save my coat, and drive at the same time. I managed to accomplish all three.

Monday in Missoula.

Monday, less than an hour after arriving.

Anyway, Monday afternoon, after 10.5 hours driving, I reached beautiful Missoula, Montana! Yup, I drove over 620 miles to see the city I hoped would be my next home.

One hundred miles from Missoula I entered a broad valley that slowly narrowed. Sixty-five miles from Missoula the road began snaking around mountains with the Clark’s Fork River beside it. It was an amazing drive.

I love it here. Absolutely love it.

Downtown Missoula.

Downtown Missoula at dusk.

I’m already breathing better (lower altitude). There’s no wind (I still step outside and brace myself for wind that isn’t there). There are added bonuses, too. I’ve discovered that the city is unbelievably flat despite the mountains surrounding it. That’s great news for someone who loves to walk and bike (and needs to for her lungs). The other bonus is the people. There’s an atmosphere of positivity and energy that’s impossible to miss.

So, the next step…?

Downtown Missoula.

Downtown Missoula.

Well, I found an apartment! It’s a small, modest place beside a walking/biking path and within a few minutes of the path along the river/downtown. Tomorrow morning I’m delivering the needed paperwork, which will take a few days to process, but I’m 99% sure it’s mine. Too, I found a vet…a “cats only” vet. I’m really excited about that.

Because I was so busy I haven’t taken many pictures (business before pleasure) but did manage a brief walk downtown around sunset. We’ll see what tomorrow brings.

Tuesday morning.

Tuesday morning.

Thursday I’ll make the return drive and will continue packing. The actual move will come in early to mid February.

I have no idea how often people come upon that place that they know in their heart is just right for them, but I know this is that place for me. I’m bursting with excitement at the same time there’s the inner peace that comes with gratitude. One half of me wants to jump for joy and the other half wants to sit, smile, and contemplate.

I’ll do a little of both.

About Ontyre Passages

Alive and well in the Rocky Mountains. I'm a fantasy writer who also dabbles in poetry, short stories, and map making. My Ontyre tales are an alternative fantasy experience, the stories rich in mystery, adventure, and romance. Alternative fantasy? Not quite steampunk. Not quite gothic. In truth, the real magic is in those who discover what's within.
This entry was posted in Main Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A Piece of My Dream

  1. Will my dream is becoming famous or somebody famous discovering me . I really hope it comes true.

  2. Kate Sparkes says:

    Congratulations on finding your place! I know exactly what you mean about finding that “just right” place. Best of luck with the move!

    • Thank you! There are those who look at me with a puzzled expression so I guess for some it doesn’t matter where they live. While I’m all for making the most of what you have, there are “places to live” and there are “places that are that special fit.” I hope from your comment that you’ve not only found your “place,” but are also residing there.

  3. I am so happy for you. You deserve peace and joy. I hope this mood brings you both. 🙂

  4. Tricia Ann says:

    It sounds just perfect, especially for a writer. Peaceful with beautiful scenery, what more could you ask for. I hope you will be happy here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

