Christina, A to Z

*I was nominated for another award (thank you, Bill), and though I’m honored, I’m also always reluctant to tag people. At the same time, I thought the format was fun and decided to give it a try. So, I’m going to do some alphabet word association as it relates to me.

A…Shiver. I devote this letter to arachnophobia. Yes, I’m talking about someone who faces down tiny spiders with bug spray, a fly swatter, and two cats as backup. I won’t live in the deep south. I’ve seen the spiders there! I literally shake and break out in a sweat.

B…Easy one. Yeah, yeah, yeah it’s the Beatles. It’s always about the Beatles (honorable mentions to Bach, Beethoven, Blondie, etc.). An especially meaningful selection for me right now because a fellow Beatle enthusiast and friend passed away recently.

English: The Beatles wave to fans after arrivi...

English: The Beatles wave to fans after arriving at Kennedy Airport. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

C…It’s about my future. It’s about relocation. It’s about me in Colorado.

D…Long ago there was a blueprint for my dreams that was rolled up and set aside. Now I’ve found it, dusted it off, and here I go…

E…Someone who means the world to me is Ergain, the main character in my novel. She’s taught me so much about myself and what it is to believe in something and strive to achieve it.

F…Did you really think I’d leave cats out of the mix? Felines have been a part of my life since before I can remember. So I raise my glass to Ginger, Puff, Pepper, Aspen, Prudence, Kate, Data, Calvin, and Misha.

G…Something I’ve wrestled with is genre. I write fantasy, but when I tell people that they automatically assume it’s a Tolkienesque tale with elves and dragons. Well…no. So, until I find a better label I’ve invented one: alternative fantasy.

H…No doubt about this one. Hope. It has kept me going during some dark times.

1964 New York World's Fair

1964 New York World’s Fair (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I…I’ll give this letter over to ice. To start, there was the ice cube that I choked on at the 1964 World’s Fair in New York while everyone laughed at me. Then there’s the “Titanic vs. iceberg” tale/movie. So much needless tragedy in one place, yet such great drama. Last, I’ll mention my fascination with geology and the amazing landscapes glaciers carved.

J…If ever there was a beautiful stone it’s jade.

K…A monster movie containing adventure and romance and makes you think. Yeah, King Kong did that all the way back in 1933. It was one of the movies available on television during my childhood that had a huge impact on me. An honorable mention to Peter Jackson’s version.

L…What else could it be other than love? I’m not looking anymore, but not because I’m depressed and have given up. Oh, gosh, no. I’m a hopeless romantic to the core. Right now I’m focused on what I can control. If love decides to set its sights on me it can track me down. Until then, I have editing to do.

M…Why, it’s magic. For just a second I’ll brag about the magic I created that’s extensive and complex, yet in the background. Okay, enough of that.

N…I guess…New York. I was born there. It seems a world away now.

O…Without a doubt we’re talking about OZ. I didn’t discover the books existed until after childhood, but the movie was enough. Ever since I’ve wanted to be a heroine, wanted to sing (my voice is outlawed in twelve states), and I’ve kept my distance from flying monkeys.

Cropped screenshot of Judy Garland from the tr...

Cropped screenshot of Judy Garland from the trailer for the film The Wizard of Oz. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

PIt’s about having a philosophy, a path, and perseverance.

QHere’s a word for you: quirky. If you ever met me you’d know it describes me well.

RAt this point in my life I probably should be hopelessly jaded and bitter. Instead, I remain a hopeless romantic (and cautious). I love writing romance in stories (even if they also contain werewolves, demons, and all host of scary creatures).

SSince I mentioned Ergain from Where Light Devours it’s only fair to mention Shayleen from Last Word Before Dying. Each is the main character in their respective stories.

TI love a good tale. Unless it’s just a lie, of course. Whether it’s told around a campfire, printed in a book, or displayed on a screen, I love curling up with one.

UHere’s an odd entry…umbilical cord. When I was born they discovered it had wrapped around my neck. I was a “blue baby” and not expected to survive the day.

VI survived my eye appointment this week and my vision was better than expected. Still, glasses to follow…

WWhat I do and who I am: writer.

XI’ve learned over the last several years that x-rays are used for more than broken bones. In my case they’re sometimes used to examine my lungs.

YHow about yellow, as in the color of my vehicle. It’s happy.

ZSo few words in the English language for this letter, but for me it’s about zenith, as in I haven’t reached it yet, but I’m working on it.

About Ontyre Passages

Alive and well in the Rocky Mountains. I'm a fantasy writer who also dabbles in poetry, short stories, and map making. My Ontyre tales are an alternative fantasy experience, the stories rich in mystery, adventure, and romance. Alternative fantasy? Not quite steampunk. Not quite gothic. In truth, the real magic is in those who discover what's within.
This entry was posted in Main Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christina, A to Z

  1. P is for Perfection, I loved this post and now have learned so many beautiful,quirky and fun things about you Christina, you are an inspiration and a gorgeous colourful soul I really enjoyed this post.

    • Thanks! It was fun to do, but also turned out to be more work than I expected. Some of those letters were really tough. It can be difficult to find things about myself that I think would be interesting to readers, but this forced me to come up with a grab-bag of tidbits.

Leave a Reply

