Giving Thanks Along the Path

I’m humbled, my gratitude brimming. I stand at the brink of a new chapter in my life and today, on this day when so much is about to change, I passed 200 followers here on 2013-05-20 2WordPress. You all have my heartfelt thanks.

And as I prepare for my trip to Denver next week (and relocation before year’s end) I note the heaviness that is the moment. A new chapter is taking shape and forming around me. I’ve embraced my writing and decided that, yes, I can do all that I can imagine.

And more.

As it is for us all.

I’m scared, for I recognize fear having felt it before, but I’d rather fail trying to accomplish all I desire then fail myself. It’s taken a long time, but I finally buried the fears that held me back. When I found my path they couldn’t keep up and so I left them behind. The fears that remain keep me alert as I move ahead.

Such is the result when you find yourself. I write. For better or worse it’s what I do and will continue to do and it’s time for me to go where I’m more comfortable doing it, where there are more opportunities for me to practice my craft. Time for me to realize more growth. Time for me to climb the next mountain…

Bears of summer splash streams.

Big cats slip past in alpine dreams.

One step in front from a step behind,

one above another, the summit in sight:

a vista high rise beneath glacial skies.

Colors abounding with wildflower eyes…

stone walls, stone falls, stone scalding in the sun.

Mountains straining, aching to rise.

Cascades descending, drowning out cries.

Birds all aflutter, singing in prayer,

birds of prey, stalking the air.

Clouds form, re-form in my mind,

twisting, reshaping time after time.

My day, my way, my right to say, “Enough!”

Air in my lungs that’s been gone before,

filling me now, helping me soar.

My world forever what I choose it to be,

the breeze lifts…carry me, carry me.

This way and that way, there is no losing,

all ways are pathways of my own choosing.

I scream, I sing, “Time for me; my time has come!”

About Ontyre Passages

Alive and well in the Rocky Mountains. I'm a fantasy writer who also dabbles in poetry, short stories, and map making. My Ontyre tales are an alternative fantasy experience, the stories rich in mystery, adventure, and romance. Alternative fantasy? Not quite steampunk. Not quite gothic. In truth, the real magic is in those who discover what's within.
This entry was posted in Main Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

